Hello friends and my few followers! And Happy Independence Day (which is referred to by most as the 4th of July)

Yes, today is the 4th of July but I choose to refer to today as Independence Day as I think there are so many more connotations associated w/ that reference. We are basically “free”, depending on your own definition, thanks to great sacrifices by many! As a graduate of The United States Military Academy and a commissioned Officer of 12 years I am obviously partial to the Service Men and Women who work, sacrifice, deploy, support, put themselves in harms way, etc…but realize that being a Patriotic American is just as important on this day. Government officials, public service workers, DoD civilians, are some examples of supporters of Our Freedom who don’t don a uniform marked with digitalized camouflage each day. Stopping for a moment and giving thanks in one way or another is a great starting point to being a great American who reaps the endless possibilities available in the great Country!

I was in the grocery store this morning behind a middle-aged man buying 2 large cases of beer stating to his friend what “a huge dent” he’s gonna “make in these beers today!” does he know why he isn’t working today, does he work, does he know that the “4th of July” is “Independence Day” and does he know why we take time out to recognize this fact? I’m not sure, but I doubt it!

I left feeling a bit disheartened by the fact that, in my opinion, this was just an excuse for a guy to sit and get drunk while one of my best friends is in Afghanistan right now sewing wounds back together and performing orthopedic surgery on Our Troops! But I later realized that whatever this man chooses to do today is his choice…the ultimate freedom! So, though I did feel a little upset about this encounter I accepted that maybe this is why sacrifices are made on a daily basis by a few to preserve the right of the masses!?!

Anyway, I’m beginning to ramble so I digress!

Have a great INDEPENDENCE DAY or whatever you want to call it. I’m going to rejoice and fellowship with awesome family and great friends!

20120706-183806.jpg

