“For every minute you remain angry, you give up sixty seconds of peace of mind.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Lately, there have been a couple of instances where I have felt like I was starting to get angry, almost that if I were to let the situation continue my blood was going to boil. I had to step back (in my own mind) and realize that is not the kind of feeling I want to have and I don’t have to let myself get upset. The key, for me at least, is knowing that it is only myself “ALLOWING” this feeling to consume me.

When I just “step back” and realize that if I just take action to toward making something positive out of what is transpiring in my life, or in my dealings with others I ultimately feel great and that I can thrive from that feeling and continue moving forward, more motivated, make good changes and be more optimistic in general.

If I can help the others involved, and those perhaps feeling the same negative emotions, feel better and look at the situation at hand from a different perspective then that’s all the better! As a group, or team of people making light out of dark situations we can do great things. However, if others can’t accept that truth and want to continue being miserable (because they are allowing themselves to be) then that’s what they’ll have to do…and I’ll talk to them later if they want ;-)!

The bottom line is that anger in my life is manifested by me and no one else. I have to accept that fact. Once I accept that, I can further make an obligation to myself to not let it happen. Sure, something is bound to trigger a little anger in my life every now and then but I have to be cognizant of that and turn it around 180 degrees ASAP and use it to motivate me to do better, be bigger, and enrich my life rather than deteriorate it!

I love running across quotes that fit perfectly into my own thoughts at that point in time, it’s truly no coincidence!

I wish you a great and anger-free day, friends!
~ Brett

20130221-183523.jpg

