“Leaders are made, they are not born. They are made by hard effort, which is the price which all of us must pay to achieve any goal that is worthwhile.” – Vince Lombardi

Anything that is worthwhile does does take effort, hard work, sacrifice and often times risks. I have personally found it difficult to remove myself what has habitually been my comfort zone and take risks. But I tell you what, when I have chosen to step outside this zone the rewards have been well worth it!

Risks can range from un-calculated insanity (not recommended by the way) to simple things like applying for a job for which you don’t meet the “written” requisites but may have the skills to accomplish. It may even be taking personal time to engage in an entrepreneurial endeavor or taking a chance trusting in someone you’ve only met through phone conversation to show up when and where they say they will.

Leadership cannot be obtained without taking a risk of some form. I do submit that the risks a true leader needs to take should be calculated and thought through to an extent. If a quick decision needs to be made then it needs to be made carefully and the person making the decision needs to be ready to accept any repercussions that may result.

As Vince Lombardi said; hard effort needs to be put into achieving goals, and in this process, leaders are made.

Just my thoughts for today as I stumbled across this quote!

20130406-151142.jpg

