“Experience: that most brutal of teachers. But you learn, my God do you learn.” C. S. Lewis

Experience in my life has been in the form of both positive and negative situations. I have had the fortune of being blessed with many great things to include a great childhood, education, an awesome Son, Wife, two Step-Children and many great things while serving as an Officer in the Army for over a decade.

Throughout the course of all these great experiences and fortunes I have also had to endure many negative situations. Some were inevitable parts of life such as deaths of elderly family members, some deaths of friends who were killed in action while serving our country, and others where honestly self-induced evils which I would never wish on my worst enemy…needless to say my Son and Step-Kids

The great part is this though; I have learned (and continue to do so) from all my experiences, positive and negative, and they have formed me into the man I am today. Some might argue (especially my step-children when I tell them to clean their rooms) but I am quite happy with the me I have become. I have values, virtues, respect for others, and try to positively affect those with whom I come in contact. I want to inspire my Kids (all of them) to do the same but often have a difficult time doing so. Maybe it’s the way I came across or it could just be their age (which I hope is the main culprit!)

Every once in a while, okay often, I have to turn toward my wife and close friends to lift me up when times get rough, read inspirational books, spend some time engaging in relaxing hobbies (such as drawing), and that’s alright. I have learned through EXPERIENCE that these are some of the things I need to do to stay personally grounded. If I’m not grounded and in a good place mentally, then there is no chance for me to impact the kiddos in a positive manner.

I need to keep my head up and remember what I have learned up to this point. I know that I have a lot more to learn from “the most brutal of teachers” but I’m ready for it!

Bring it on, baby! 🙂

