“Don’t count the days, make the days count.”

So, I don’t spend too much time on Twitter but I checked it out and came across this quick Tweet that really got me thinking. I spend a heck of a lot of time counting down the days or even minutes until something that I am really not looking forward to IS going to transpire: the key word here being “IS!”

What’s going to happen is going to happen whether it be a meeting I’m not looking forward to or having to attend a social event I really don’t want to attend. Some things just can’t be avoided and I have personally found that many times these things aren’t nearly as painful as I imagine. The more time I think about these inevitable events, the worse I imagine they will be and the more time I have to anticipate the worst-case scenario. That’s no way to spend these days, hours, or even minutes.

If I am consistently focusing on the bad things that MAY or MAY NOT come then I am bound to miss out on all the great things that are happening around me, beside me, or even to me!

I don’t know why it took this simple little wake up quote (author unknown) of 8 words to get me to think about this but it sure worked so I’ll take it! If something bad is going to happen then it’s going to happen. Sure, if it’s avoidable than I’ll do what I can to ensure it doesn’t happen, otherwise I’ll let nature take it’s course but in the meantime I’ll choose to focus on the positive! And trust me, there is always something positive going on around me. It might be as simple as watching my cat play, going for a run, watching the kids play, etc…but there’s ALWAYS something. I just have to open my eyes to that and not focus on what IS going to transpire. I hope you can pull what you need to from those simple 8 words as well!

Have a great Sunday and take a look at all those great things around you!
~ Brett

20130414-163108.jpg

